Skip to content

Header Menu One

Header Menu 2

Header Actions Menu

Board of Trustees

Salem Academy and College is governed by a Board of Trustees composed of 18 to 22 voting members, including the Chairs of the Salem Academy and Salem College Alumnae Boards. The Board of Trustees is charged with the strategic, long-term stewardship of the institution’s mission and strengthening of its financial, physical, and educational assets. The President of Salem Academy and College serves as a non-voting ex officio member.

flowers outside of building

Board of Trustees Contact Information

Office of the President 601 South Church Street Winston-Salem, NC 27101

plant with fruit on it
Patrice Davis

Patrice Davis, EdD C'89

Chair (2023-2025)
  • Vice President for Student Services
    Trident Technical College
    Charleston, SC
Eileen B. Wilson-Oyelaran

John McConnell, MD

Vice Chair (2023-2025)
  • CEO Emeritus
    Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center
    Winston-Salem, SC
Brooke Smith

Brooke Smith C’96

  • Chief Strategy Officer
    Baltimore, MD

Sallie Smalley Beason, A’85

  • Community Volunteer
    Charlotte, NC

Mimi Aledo-Sandoval C’01

  • Senior Policy Director
    Alliance for Early Success
    Rockville, MD
Liz Baird

Elizabeth Denton Baird C’83

  • CEO
    North Carolina Aquarium Society
    Wake Forest, NC
Julia Archer

Julia Cardwell Archer A’84

  • Partner
    Enns & Archer, LLP
    Winston-Salem, NC
Sarah Berga

Sarah L. Berga, MD

  • Professor and Chair, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
    Jacobs School of Medicine and BioMedical Sciences at the University of Buffalo SUNY
    Buffalo, NY
Akeshia Howell

Akeshia Craven-Howell

  • Partner, Strategic Advising
    Bellwether Education Partners
    Charlotte, NC

Linda Darden, MHA, CPA

  • President & CEO
    Trellis Supportive Care
    Winston-Salem, NC
Terrie Davis

Terrie Allen Davis A’63, C’67

  • Community Volunteer
    Winston-Salem, NC
Drew Ellen

Ellen Todd Drew C’81

  • Community Volunteer/Philanthropist
    Palo Alto, CA
Lossie Freeman

Lossie Freeman C’97

  • Director of Corporate Partnerships
    Zip Code Wilmington
    Wilmington, DE

Beth Mabe Gianopulos C’97

President, Salem College Alumnae Association Board
  • Assistant Professor, Department of Surgery
    Atrium Health Wake Forest Baptist
    Winston-Salem, NC

Ina Blackmore Kamenz A’73

President, Salem Academy Alumnae Association Board
  • Consultant/Community Volunteer
    Mocksville, NC
Katherine Holland-Ortiz C’00

Katherine Holland-Ortiz C’00

  • Executive Director
    Perkins School for the Blind
    Lexington, MA
Brandy Nelson C’97

Brandy Nelson C’97, EdD C’97

  • Academic Director & Education Consultant
    Reading Reimagined
    Charlotte, NC
Anne Berger Salisbury C’71

Anne Berger Salisbury C’71

  • Retired/Recalled NC District Court Judge
    Cary, NC
Sydney Timmons Taylor C’71

Sydney Timmons Taylor C’71

  • Insurance Executive/Retired
    Greenville, SC
Eileen B. Wilson-Oyelaran

Eileen B. Wilson-Oyelaran, PhD

  • Retired, President Emerita
    Kalamazoo College
    Albuquerque, NM

© Salem Academy 2024, All rights reserved.